97th Ferrum Commencement

2013 CommencementMay 24, 2013, marked the 97th annual commencement for Ferrum College, with Dr. Jennifer Braaten conferring degrees on 220 Ferrum students in a ceremony held in Hart International Plaza. Columbus State University President Dr. Timothy S. Mescon delivered the commencement address, emphasizing the importance of perseverance, positivism, and activism. Prior to commencement, graduates participated in a traditional Baccalaureate service on Friday evening in Vaughn Chapel, which concluded with a candlelight ceremony at Hart International Plaza to symbolize the light of knowledge that the new graduates will carry forth into the world.

Part of the ceremony included the presentation of the 2013 Beckham Medallion, awarded to Allen DeHart ’54. The Beckham Medallion is the highest honor bestowed upon an alumnus of Ferrum College and is named for the College’s first president, Dr. Benjamin M. Beckham. DeHart received the medallion in recognition of his loyalty to Ferrum College and his dedication to Ferrum’s motto: “Not Self, But Others.” DeHart recently gifted the 172-acre DeHart Botanical Gardens to Ferrum College.

See more of last year’s Commencement and Baccalaureate services on Flickr.

Leave A Comment

6 × = 36

Follow / Like / Connect Twitter | Facebook | Flickr | YouTube