Eight Ferrum College Buildings Designated as State Historic District

In celebration of the Ferrum College Centennial, the administration applied for, and was granted, the designation of “Historical District” by the Commonwealth of Virginia. The district is made up of the eight buildings built between 1914 and 1942, which constitute the core of campus.

The Ferrum College Historic District includes:

  • Stratton House (circa 1915, President’s Residence, Principal’s Residence, Maple Crest)
  • Spilman-Daniel House (circa 1914, White Cottage, Home Economics Building)
  • John Wesley Hall (1914–15)
  • Beckham Hall (1917, Administration Building)
  • Roberts Hall (1921, Centenary Hall)
  • Schoolfield Hall (1925, Schoolfield Memorial Hall, Sale Theatre)
  • Britt Hall (1941–42)
  • Richeson Hall (1939–40, Ida R. Richeson Infirmary)
Leave A Comment

5 × = 10

Follow / Like / Connect Twitter | Facebook | Flickr | YouTube