New Trustees Announced July 2013


Mr. Clay Campbell of Ridgeway, Virginia, is president of the famed Martinsville Speedway and a member of the NASCAR appeals commission. His community service includes membership on the boards of the W.E. Skelton 4-H Center, Memorial Hospital of Martinsville & Henry County, and the Blue Ridge Airport Authority, and service as chair of the Martinsville-Henry County Chamber of Commerce Partnership for Economic Growth. He is past president of the Chamber of Commerce of Martinsville & Henry County, past president of the Martinsville YMCA, and past board member of the Virginia Economic Development Partnership.

Mr. Oden “Joey” Cornwell ’02, Boones Mill, Virginia, is the current president of the Ferrum College Alumni Association.
He is branch manager/loan officer for Farm Credit of the Virginias, and serves on the board of Support to Eliminate Poverty (STEP). He is past treasurer of STEP and is a member of the Rocky Mount Rotary Club. His awards include STEP, Inc.’s “M.G. Goodpasture Award” in 2009 and the National Farm Credit Award in 2009. He has received numerous Farm Credit Top Income Generator Awards.

Mrs. Ernestine Dunnings, Staunton, Virginia, is a retired elementary school educator and president of United Methodist Women, Augusta Street United Methodist Church, where she is also a member of the choir. Her church/community service includes membership in the Trinity Episcopal Church Lunch Program to Feed the Hungry and the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority.

Mrs. Olivia T. Hinton, Portsmouth, Virginia, immediate past conference president of United Methodist Women (UMW), is a retired director of secondary education with Portsmouth Public Schools. She is a member of the Elizabeth River District Board of Missions Directors and District Committee on Ordained Ministry. She is UMW president and outreach ministry team chair of St. Andrew’s United Methodist Church, international past president of the Virginia Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, an honorary member of Rotary Club, and
a Paul Harris Fellow.

Mr. Baxter Phillips, Jr. ’66, of Manakin Sabot, Virginia, is the retired chief executive officer of Massey Energy Company. A Ferrum alum, he serves on the finance committee of the Board of Trustees of the Maymont Foundation, and the Audit, Nominating, and Governance Commitees of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Business Foundation.

Rev. Kathleen Overby Webster, Roanoke, Virginia, is the Roanoke District Superintendent of the Virginia Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church (VAUMC). She is a member of the VAUMC Clergy Effectiveness Committee and serves on the VAUMC Council on Finance and Administration, as well as the District Committee on Ordained Ministry. She also served as vice president of Media for Living, nonprofit publisher of Living Magazine, and was on the VAUMC Common Table.

Leave A Comment

× 4 = 8

Follow / Like / Connect Twitter | Facebook | Flickr | YouTube